Rosemary Mozzarella Bread

IMG_0685

A few weeks ago I decided to finally venture into the world of bread making. If you ask me, few things can beat a hot loaf of crispy bread. Fresh bread is so delicious and easy to do that it seemed silly to continue adding generic sliced unexciting bread to my grocery list.

I hit the jackpot when I stumbled across this recipe.

This bread takes minutes to prepare and works as a blank canvas for whatever bread creations you have stored away in the corners of your mind. I love it! However, having limited kitchen supplies I had to make a few adjustments to the baking instructions. Also, I’m putting my own twist on the recipe adding rosemary and mozzarella cheese. Yum! So, without further adieu, here’s my very first blog recipe: Rosemary Mozzarella Bread.

Ingredients: 

3 cups Flour

1/2 teaspoon Instant dry yeast

1 1/2 teaspoon salt

1 Tablespoon Fresh Rosemary

1 1/2 cups Tap Water (room temperature)

Fresh Mozzarella cheese

Dried Italian Seasoning (optional)

Instructions:

Step One: In a large bowl combine flour, yeast, salt, and rosemary.

IMG_0653

Step Two: Pour water over flour mixture all at once. Stir just until all water is absorbed. This is a no-kneed bread, so don’t over stir. It’s not supposed to look pretty.

IMG_0656

Step Three: Cover bowl and leave to rise for roughly 12 hours.

IMG_0658

… 12 hours later

IMG_0659

Step Four: Preheat oven to 450 degrees and shape dough. This dough is extremely sticky, so heavily flour the surface you choose to shape your dough on. I used a piece of parchment paper. The dough will also stick to your hands, so either flour them or keep your hands wet while working with the dough.

During this step, try touching the dough as little as possible. The goal is to shape the dough beautifully without squeezing out any of the wonderful air pockets that have formed over the last 12 hours.

IMG_0662

Step five: Transfer dough to a clean piece of parchment paper on a cookie sheet and top with sliced mozzarella. For garnish I added a sprinkle of dried Italian seasoning.

IMG_0668

Step six: Fill an oven safe dish or mug with water and place in the oven with the bread. The water will steam inside the oven making the crust nice and crisp. Bake for 25-30 minutes. I shaped my bread as a shallow oval, so my loaf was baked in 25 minutes.

IMG_0672

Step Seven: Remove from oven when the crust is golden and voila! You’ve got yourself a delicious loaf of bread.

IMG_0674

IMG_0688

I used mine to make chicken pesto sandwiches.

IMG_0689

I have also used this recipe with orange zest and cranberries instead of rosemary and mozzarella.

IMG_0567

Talk about delicious!

Let me know if you have any questions, tips, or other cool things to say. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

