Cutie Fruitie

Two weeks ago my mom and I threw a baby shower for my sister-in-law. Okay, my mom threw it and I came home two days before the shower to help out. Regardless, one of the things I was in charge of making was the fruit salad. It sounds like a pretty boring but tasty project, right?

Think again! Thanks to social media, we found the inspiration we needed to create an adorable fruit salad and to have a blast doing it.

ImageHave you ever seen such an adorable cantaloupe?

There were a lot of people coming to the shower, so my boyfriend helped me out and we made two salads.

This project was so easy.

Directions:

Step One: Cut a watermelon at a 90 degree angle and hollow out the inside with a melon baller.

Step Two: Cut the skin off of a cantaloupe and shape as desired. The watermelons I used were a bit small, so I had to trim down the cantaloupes.

Step Three: Using toothpicks and your imagination, create your fruit baby’s face. Using the tip of a knife cut a whole into the cantaloupe and insert a pacifier.

Step Four: Placing the cantaloupe into the watermelon may require some thriftiness. The melon on the right sat perfectly inside the watermelon with only the assistance of a toothpick, while the one on on right needed a bit of a boost.

Image

We used a chunk of watermelon. PS- Disregard the creepy raspberry eyes on the right… we were still in the creative stage.

Step Five: Fill the baby’s bed with watermelon balls and whatever fruits you like.

Step Six: To serve, place in the center of a tray covered with left over water melon (trust me, you’ll have left over watermelon) and extra fruits.

ImageAwwwww!

Let me know if you have any questions! Thanks for reading!

Hannah

One thought on “Cutie Fruitie

Leave a Reply

