Chicken and Squash Curry

La Petite Provence in Portland, OR makes the inferiority of all other breakfast joints extremely apparent. It is more magical than any French bakery I could ever imagine. Their croissants are heavenly, their portions are huge, and their entrees are so delicious that I have never gotten a chance to eat the roasted squash side dish that comes with the meal.

I have been to La Petite Provence twice this week and not wanting to waste a perfectly delicious side dish, I boxed up the roasted squash in hopes that I’d find a creative use for it. Well, I did! And I’ve got to say this is one of  the most (if not the most) delicious entrees I have ever come up with. Try it!

Chicken and Squash Curry  

DSC_0164

Ingredients:

salt, pepper, olive oil

2 Chicken thighs cut into strips

1 diced red pepper

1/2 teaspoon Curry Powder

1/4 teaspoon Cardamom

1 minced garlic clove

1 can coconut milk

1 teaspoon Better Than Bouillon Chicken Base

~ 1/2 cup roasted butternut squash

Rice

Step One: Salt and Pepper chicken as desired, with burner set to high, sauté in olive oil with red pepper.

DSC_0145

Step Two: Sprinkle curry powder, cardamom, and diced garlic over chicken.

DSC_0147

Step Three: Once Chicken has cooked through, pour can of coconut milk into pan. Add chicken base and stir to dissolve.

DSC_0149

Step Four: Since my squash was precooked, I added it last.

DSC_0152

Look at that beautiful color!

DSC_0153

Step Five: Serve over rice. I used Basmati Brown Rice, which is ordinarily served with Indian dishes.

DSC_0161

My tummy’s pretty happy with me right now.

Until next time,

Hannah

2 thoughts on “Chicken and Squash Curry

Leave a Reply

