Hannah’s Chocolate Cream Pie with Chocolate Chip Cookie Crust

Image


If ever there was a serendipitous occasion for a faulty memory, the creation of this pie was it.

Two summers ago, Martha Stewart Living had a special edition packed full of chocolate chip cookie recipes. I don’t know anyone who doesn’t appreciate a good chocolate chip cookie, so I tested a few of the recipes out and in the process I discovered her Chocolate Tarte with Chocolate Chip cookie crust. It was wonderful! A dense chocolaty pudding with a crunchy crust to be eaten right out of the oven. About a week later, my family asked me to make it again, but I soon discovered that my dad had thrown away the catalogue!

After searching the internet for the recipe to no avail, I decided to try to recreate the recipe by memory. The product was a lighter creamier pie with an intense chocolate flavor that is wonderful chilled. My mom borrowed someone else’s catalogue for me later and found that only one of my measurements was correct and I had added a few ingredients… thank goodness. I am so proud of this dessert!

For the crust you’ll need chocolate chip cookies. Don’t try store bought. I tried to skimp once by using store bought and the crust turned out gummy. Either dig through your freezer and pull out some left over chocolate chip cookies (what are those?) or whip out a simple batch. I halved this recipe, subbing chocolate chips for the m&ms and I had more than enough to make the crust.

Also, Martha Stewart’s recipe calls for bittersweet chocolate chips, but this time I used Bittersweet Bakers Chocolate Squares. Both are fantastic, so just use what you have.

Chocolate Cream Pie

Image

Ingredients: 

For the Crust:

2 Tablespoons melted butter

About 1 dozen Chocolate Chip Cookies

For the Pie:

3/4 cups Heavy Whipping Cream

3/4 cups bitter sweet chocolate chips

-or- 5 oz Bittersweet baking chocolate squares

1/2 cup milk (2% seems to work best)

1 egg

2 Tablespoons sugar

Directions

Step One: Set your oven to 350 degrees. Food process or crush cookies to make 3 cups of crumbs. Add melted butter and stir. You want your crumbs to be moist enough to stick together if you pinch them in your fingers.

My crumbs are rather large in the pictures, because I had to crush the cookies in a plastic bag by hand. I don’t have a food processor at my college house, which is kind of a bummer, but the crust was still wonderful.

Image

Image

Step Two: Pour crumbs into a pie plate and press with the bottom of a measuring cup to shape the crust.

Image

Image

Step Three: Place crust in oven for 10-15 minutes. You want to dry out your crust and make it crispy without burning it. When crust is done, raise the temperature of the oven to 375.

Wait a few minutes before starting Step Four. Your crust needs to be done before your pie filling.

Step Four: Pour heavy whipping cream into a medium saucepan over high heat. Once it begins to simmer, add chocolate and stir/whisk constantly.

Image

Step Five:  Eventually the mixture will take on a solid color. When this happens add milk, egg, and sugar to the sauce pan and whisk until the consistency is even.

Step Six: Pour chocolate mixture into crust. And place in the oven for 25-30 minutes.

Image

Image

Make sure the pie is ready to come out of the oven by lightly nudging the pie plate. When the filling no longer sloshes like liquid remove it from the oven and allow the pie to cool. I prefer to eat it chilled and topped with whipped cream.

Image

Enjoy your slice of chocolate heaven!

Hannah

One thought on “Hannah’s Chocolate Cream Pie with Chocolate Chip Cookie Crust

  1. Pingback: Ugly Cake: A Delicious Chocolatey Buttercream Mess | Cooking in Curls

Leave a Reply

