Corn Bread Waffles: Great side for summer BBQ

I’m singing in a country swing show this weekend and all of our rehearsals got me in the mood for some nice southern cooking. Unfortunately, I don’t know much about southern cooking. What I do know is that one of my favorite restaurants in Portland is a soul food restaurant and their Chicken and Waffles are amazing.

I never had any interest in trying chicken and waffles, but my boyfriend suggested it once and it immediately became my favorite thing on the menu. The fried chicken is perfectly crisp and juicy, but what really knock my socks off are the waffles. They are just like corn bread, but in waffle form!

Image

 

 

Don’t they look delicious? Yes… my boyfriend and I did take pictures of our food in the restaurant. Anyway, these waffles are so delicious that I had to try to make them on my own, and what I came up with was pretty darn good! While Po’Shines’ waffles are dense like corn bread, my recipe is light and fluffy.

I made them with cube steak, corn on the cob, and fresh lemonade. What a perfect summer meal to satisfy my soul food craving!

 

Ingredients (makes 5 large waffles): 

3/4 cup cornmeal
1 cup flour
1/4 cup sugar
5 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
1 cup buttermilk
1 egg, well beaten
2 tbsp butter melted

Directions:

Step One: In a large bowl combine cornmeal, flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.

Step Two: Add buttermilk, egg, and butter. Whisk well.

Image

 

Step Three: Spoon batter into hot waffle iron. Cook for the same length of time as regular waffles. Serve smothered in honey butter with your best barbeque meal.

Image

Image

 

This is such a fun and delicious way to eat cornbread. The waffles are moist, fluffy, and slightly crunchy on the outside. My family loved them. I’ll definitely be making them again.

Happy eating!

Hannah

 

Bonus: Behind the scenes with cooking in curls.

After eating dinner in the sun shine we paid a visit to the chicken coop and spent some time with our miniature rooster, Fred. Is he a cutie or what?

Fred

Leave a Reply

