Easy Enchiladas

Today my mom asked me to make dinner and told me that my dad had requested enchiladas. I had never made enchiladas before… so I looked at it as an opportunity to be creative. Fortunately, this led to a pretty delicious dinner.

Image

The whole family was satisfied. The enchiladas were so filling and flavorful! My dad said they would have been perfect had they been served with crisp shredded lettuce, which is a great suggestion. Overall, this meal was very simple to make and wonderful to eat.

Ingredients:

1 cup white rice

1 cup water

1 can diced or Mexican stewed tomatoes (not drained)

About 1/4 cup Coconut Milk

1 large chopped onion

1 diced garlic clove

2 lbs ground meat (I used a deer and pork mixture)

2 Tbsp taco seasoning

tortillas

1 can enchilada sauce

Shredded Colby Jack or Mexican blend Cheese

Instructions:

Step One: Set oven to 350 degrees. Place rice, water, and tomatoes in rice cooker. Start cooker.

Step Two: Saute onion and garlic with olive oil in a large pan until onions become slightly transparent. Add meat. Image

Step Three: Add about 2 tablespoons of taco seasoning while meat cooks and mix thoroughly. I used my mom’s homemade taco seasoning, (which she can’t remember the recipe for, otherwise I’d share it) but I’m sure store bought taco seasoning would work just as well.

Image

Step Four: Once the rice is completely cooked, drizzle coconut milk over it and stir.

Image

Step Five: Fill tortillas with meat, rice, and cheese. Roll and place in oven safe pan.

Image

Step Six: Drizzle enchilada sauce over tortillas and cover with cheese. Make sure the edges of the pan get plenty of sauce. Place in the oven for five minutes, or until cheese in melted.

Image

Image

Enjoy with sour cream and fresh lettuce.

Thanks for reading! Let me know if you have any questions, comments, suggestions, and the like!

Hannah

Leave a Reply

